When enabled, this indicates that the file has changed since the last backup operation. The Windows file system sets this attribute on every file that has changed. The backup software then has the task of deleting them after a successful backup.
If set, this indicates that the file is hidden. By default, file explorers don't show hidden files unless they're set to do so.
When enabled, this option indicates that the file is a critical system file that is required for the computer to function properly. Microsoft Windows use it to mark important system files. By default, file explorers do not show system files, even if hidden files are shown, unless you are set to do so.
If this option is activated, it means that a file must not be changed. When the file is opened, the file system API does not normally grant the requesting application write permission unless the application specifically requests it. Read-only attributes for folders are usually ignored and used for a different purpose.
3.) Can I change the data attributes?
Anyone can change the file attributes under Windows, simply right-click on the corresponding file or folder and open the properties of the file via the context menu . And change the file attributes directory attributes. You can use the extended button to change extended file attributes . ( ... see Image-2 )
The screenshot for the images was made under Windows 10, but the solution also works under older Windows operating systems, such as Windows 8.1 and Win 7.
(Image-2) Change the File or Folder Attributes such as: A, HS, R !
The file attribute R stands for read only, but in reality it is only write-protected and deleting a file does not mean writing. If you want to protect a file, there are other methods under Microsoft Windows OS